What Do Mercedes-Benz’s Lettered Class Segments Mean?

February 17th, 2016 by


If you have noticed how the cars are named by Mercedes-Benz, you are sure to come across a number of contradictions and confusions. First off, there has been a revamp of the naming with the company. Following are the updated names that you should know about.

The main division is with the class, there are 4 major classes:

  • The core: A-Class, B-Class, C-Class, E-Class, S-Class.
  • Coupe: CLS-Class, CLA-Class
  • Roadsters: SL-Class, SLC-Class (Formerly SLK)
  • SUV: GLA-Class, GLC-Class, GLE-Class, GLS-Class, G-Class (G Wagon)

The GL denotes SUV and the next letter will denote the class, so the GLS will be the S class in the GL series. The M class has been renamed to fit this categorization, the M class is now the GLE-Class.

The next level denotes engine, it usually a lower case letter:

  • c: Compressed natural gas
  • d: Diesel
  • e: Electric
  • f: Fuel cell
  • h: Hybrid
  • 4MATIC: four-wheel drive

The AMG series have their own separate naming style and will be denoted with a clear AMG tag.

The main reason to bring all the classes into to a new naming structure is to simplify it, according to Mercedes-Benz. With new models springing up like never before, it only makes sense to bring a unified structure to it. So the next time you visit Mercedes-Benz Brampton, you will know exactly what the model name and number means.







Posted in News